A Young Riders Academy: Team 2019 has been appointed!
Actually injured: The new member of A Ypung Riders Academy, Justine Tebbel Photo: spring-reiter.de

A Young Riders Academy: Team 2019 has been appointed!

posted in: Allgemein | 0

The Selection Panel, consisting of Jean Maurice Bonneau, Emile Hendrix, Franke Sloothaak and sports manager Sven Holmberg, together with the YRA board, after having evaluated all candidates’ attitude, capabilities, motivation together with technical skills and competition results, came up with the official assessment concerning the young Riders Academy Team 2019. Emile Hendrix, part of selection panel since the first year makes a clear statement, together with Franke Sloothaak, during the second and final leg of this year’s selection at CSI3* Mannheim. “We could see new stars rising up, and the level of applicants is clearly growing year by year, the consequence is that being good is not enough. The new young riders have serious goals and they are keen to work hard for them.  We, as observers, are looking for those qualities that make differences; of course, talents and goals, but ambition, emotion and management are key nowadays.  And… be careful about talent, it can be a handicap when it makes people lazy!” Franke Sloothaak, who definitely supports Emile’s vision adds his tips: “first of all, I want to train riders when they show a winning attitude with an open mind!”

Eight riders among the 30 made it to Full Program team, while other three entered this year Educational Program squad; “this year the Board and the Selection Panel have had an extremely challenging task in choosing the final lineup. National Federations, again, presented a group of athletes remarkably motivated” commented both Eleonora Ottaviani – President of the Board, and Breido graf zu Rantzau – Vice President.

Full Program:

Wilma Marklund/99/SWE

Vaclav Stanek/95/CZE

Margaux Broucqsault/97/FRA

Elin Ott /99/CHF
Justine Tebbel/98/GER
Susan Fitzpatrick/99/IRL

Amy Inglis/97/GBR
Michael Pender/99/IRL

Educational Program:

Alexia Stais/96/RSA
Sophie Hinners/97/GER
Felix Koller/97/AUT

Special mention to Alice Tapper from Sweden, Sofie Slattery from Ireland and Vince Jarmy from Hungary who will receive a tailor-made program.

The Full Program offers a long stay of training and boarding at a renowned professional stable and includes qualified education in communication, business and economics, veterinary, anti-doping and legal practice connected to show jumping. The Educational Program team will gather during the year for 5 academic sessions – on the above topics. This group will also benefit from YRA support during jumping seasons which consists in clinics, sport training and shows invitations. Clinics during the year will be held by JMaurice Bonneau, Jos Lansink and Franke Sloothaak; while the trainers for the full program are going to be: Henk Nooren, Marco Kutscher, Jos Lansink, Ben, Gerco and Wim Schroder.

Both Teams, as usual, will meet in Lugano in mid-June for the 2019 program kick off at Franklin University of Switzerland.